We had our first gig in 6 weeks over the weekend. I was chomping at the bit! The night we were playing coincided with a Pittsburgh Penguin playoff game. Being a Pittsburgher I understood when the bar owner told us we couldn’t power anything up until the game was over. In the first period The Pens were up 3-1. We figured we’d go on around 9:30ish. Then the game was tied. Lovely. Overtime. The bar owner called my drummer and said “Since the game is going into overtime and there’s hardly anyone at the bar I want to give you only $200 rather than the agreed on $400”. We talked him into letting us go on after the game and play it by ear. First overtime ends…still tied. Going into second overtime. We didn’t go on until after 11:00. We played 2 sets and the owner gave us $300. Like AC/DC said “It’s a long way to the top if ya wanna rock and roll.” I did get to use my new P-Bass and my new Rumble 350 bass amp. NICE!
Oh…and the Penquins lost in double overtime!
hhgig

